top of page
Search
  • Samaa Ismail

Haidy Morsy, Pentathlon qualifier for Tokyo Olympics

After qualifying for the 2021 Tokyo Olympics through the African Continental Olympic Qualifiers in 2019, “Trendify” interviewed the first Egyptian Pentathlon champion to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics, Haidy Morsy.

How does it feel to be qualified for the Tokyo Olympics?

It is definitely another feeling, as I had been training in this sport since I was 15 years old, and all I dreamed of then was to participate in the Olympics. Now, I hope to achieve a Medal for my country and myself. Since this is my second participation in the Olympics, I have experience that would hopefully qualify me to achieve that goal.

How are you preparing for the Olympics?

We are currently competing in a championship that will end by the 15th of June, as preparation for the Olympics. And after that we will have a camp outside of Egypt for further preparations and practice. The World Cup currently held is of course great practice for us that will give us the confidence boost and experience we need for the Olympics, it is a great stop for us before the Olympics.

How do you balance between your college life and your athletic career?

Being a Mass Communication student in AUC, I did not have much time to study, but what helped me a lot last year was that all our classes were online. The time I spent going to and returning from the campus was time saved thanks to the online switch, which gave me more time to study.

How does the university support you?

Whenever I have to travel or have a championship, I send the required information to the university, and they immediately contact the ministries involved to set everything for me. They are also of great support as sometimes I compete in the university’s name, they are very involved with sports and give it great attention.

How does the Egyptian Modern Pentathlon Federation (EMPF) support you in preparation for the Olympics?

They provide us with all we need for the Olympics, from tools and equipment to camps and gymnasiums for training.

Which tournament are you most worried about?

Part of this sport depends on luck and we sometimes face surprises in a championship, we hope to be lucky enough to reach the finals.

Your Role Model?

Kate French, however, I have many more idols, as each tournament the rankings are always different. It is rare when someone wins consecutive times, as I have mentioned before, it is a sport that depends on luck.

How did the Coronavirus lockdown affect your training?

We stayed more than 3 months at home, and I had been infected with the virus in June, which took me a long time to recover and affected our physical fitness, but thankfully we managed to get back on track.

Future Goals?

After qualifying for the Tokyo Olympics, my next goal is to achieve an Olympic Gold Medal for Egypt.


bottom of page