top of page
Search
  • Sarah Francis

Osama El-hady: Shamba is a person we meet in everyday life .. l trained to work with honeybees


Osama El-Hady with Mohamed Mamdouh from "Le'bet Newton"

A character that shined and caught considerable attention this Ramadan, with Egyptians talking about how relatable it is all over the social media was “Shamba” staring Osama El-hady from “le’bet Newton”. The young actor who mastered the role of a beekeeper may be a bit new in the acting profession, but his songs were also hits back when they were published.


“Trendify” interviewed the real person behind the role of “Shamba” to tell us more about the character he played, how he made it so relatable that people sympathized with at times in the show and were proud of at others. El hady also mentioned a lot about the coulis of the series, his future goals and the next roles he is looking for.


El-hady: Tamer Mohsen told me to let people feel they want to have Shamba as a friend in real life

Did you expect people to relate to Shamba’s character to this extent?

Surely, no. It went beyond my expectations and was totally surprising. My happiness with this unexpected impact is indescribable.


The reason why I think people related to the character is that they saw a reflection of themselves on him. “Shamba” is someone we can meet in everyday life and share aspects with like being a good friend to turn to in harsh times. This is exactly what I worked on to be shown on screen since the beginning where in the first time I sat to discuss the role with the director, Tamer Mohsen, he said “I want people to feel they want Shamba to be their friend in real life”.


Does the character of “Shamba” have aspects of your personality in real life? To what extent?

I don’t share a lot with the character of “Shamba” either in the physical appearance or personality. However, I share a few mutual aspects with him where I tend to get angry easily but not as much as Shamba does. I am also decent in real life like Shamba.


How was the shooting location?

It was absolutely unique on both artistic and personal levels. The location was calm and comfortable which helped me and the rest of the actors to concentrate more on our roles.


El-Hady: There was a beekeeper who used to tell me what I shall do exactly with honeybees

Did you train to work with honeybees during preparation for the role?

There was a beekeeper in the series, with whom I used to sit and talk in preparation for every scene to know what I shall do exactly. Moreover, the director used to have long discussions with the beekeeper in order to know what instructions to give us exactly.



How was the experience of working with superstars like Mona Zaki and Mohamed Mamdouh?

Honestly, it was one of my dreams to work with each of them as well as the director. I consider myself lucky enough to have the chance to act in a series alongside professional actors like Mohamed Mamdouh, Mohamed Farrag and Mona Zakai and with an amazing director like Tamer Mohsen. They helped me a lot and made me feel comfort not only in the dramatic context we shared but also on personal levels.


El-Hady: it is not that I left singing, it is just that I, luckily, had the chance to discover new successes

You have achieved considerable success in singing and then started acting, Are you willing to continue in acting or go back to singing?

In singing, it has been a while since I stopped for some reasons that I don’t have any control upon. So, it is not that I left singing, it is just that I, luckily, had the chance to discover new successes.


Surely, what I have done in acting is still not as successful as how I was in singing. So, I would achieve more in acting. On the other side, since it has been a while since I stopped singing, I am looking for something to help me make a strong comeback that’s up to people’s expectations from me.


What are you looking forward to doing next?

The “next” is totally unknown, mysterious and frightening as well because I was lucky enough to act under supervision of amazing directors in the small roles I took before working with the amazing director Tamer Mohsen. As much as this is rewarding it represents a responsibility and makes me wonder what I could do next to be as important.


El-hady: I would like to play impactful characters

How will you choose your next roles?

My criteria in choosing a role is to pick the roles which are likely to have an impact in some way or another whether its effect could be on the story itself, the society or targeting a certain age to represent.


The reason why I went for acting was not that I would like to make a show or stand in front of the camera. Instead, it was that I knew I have some energy to give in this profession and I want it to be resorted to something impactful that will last with the audience. To sum up, I am looking forward to a quality to present and to enjoy it while performing. I hope I will have the ability to choose my next roles so that the audience starts to see me in more worth-recalling roles.


Comentarios


bottom of page