top of page
Search
  • Omnya Khaled

Severe injuries will not stop triathlete Zeina Saber from reaching her Olympic dream

Zeina Essam Saber, 22, swimmer, triathlete, ex-runner, fin swimmer. During her swimming and fin swimming career she got a lot of medals and ranked 19 in the Elite Old Swimmers at the fin swimming World Cup.


And by 2015 she entered the Triathlon National Team but went back off as she suffered an accident with 4 surgeries which led to her stopping any kind of sports.

“When I was done with all the surgeries, it was difficult getting back into training, it was an ‘on and off’ time for me, I was completely unmotivated, no one believed in me and thought I was able to get back on track,” said Saber to “Trendify”.

“I tried for 5 years to come back and I was failing, losing. I had no motivation till 2020 changed everything. My grandpa gave me the motivation I needed but he passed away at the beginning of 2021 so I had to compete again and make him proud,” Saber added.

About two years ago she suffered from severe injuries in her back and legs. Doctors said she wouldn’t be able to compete anymore due to the curvatures in her spine and issues in her pelvis. It was almost impossible to get back into shape.

“As a result of these injuries, I wasn’t able to participate in the championships that qualify for the Tokyo Olympics,” stated Saber.

But thanks to her grandfather, he gave her the motivation and key lessons that pushed her to believe in herself and believe that God will give her the strength she needs to get back on track.

Saber made her own small gym and training area at home which was an excellent use of time during the lockdown in 2020. She also had online training sessions with a coach from Hungary.

“I finished the 2021 Africa Triathlon Championships Sharm El Sheikh, 20-24 Female AG Sprint on the 12th of June, getting the second place for Egypt,” added Saber.

Saber will be competing in swimming the upcoming national championships and will be preparing for the upcoming World Cup for fin swimming and 2024 Paris Olympics in triathlons.



bottom of page