top of page
Search
  • Naira Fahmy

Wimpy’s Return: Nostalgia Taking Over The Internet



In the beginning of June, Wimpy’s restaurants announced their return to Egypt after their withdrawal from the Egyptian market in 1998 due to their lack of ability to compete with other global fast food restaurants that had recently opened in Egypt back then. The restaurant did not just open its doors again for food, it also opened the doors of memories and nostalgia to the 90s generation. Social media users are celebrating this opening by sharing their stories, pictures there and even their menu favorites.


According to Wimpy’s Branch Manager, Adel Maher, the new restaurant follows in the footsteps of Wimpy who stood in town in the 1980s. Moreover, the restaurant will serve burgers, wings, tacos, hot dogs, breakfast and more special fast food.

“Wimpy was famous for its burger options, and its menu that includes beef and chicken burgers, as well as an array of veggie options. Yet the new menu contains "fish dishes" and breakfast options, as well as a children's menu,” said Maher.

Maher also added that the style and decoration is one of the major connections between Wimpy and their customers and that is why the new wimpy has the exact same tables and decorations.





“I was 17 when I first went to Wimpy’s, it was 1992 and me and my friends used to go there after school when we had enough money, there weren't as many burger restaurants as there are now so Wimpy was a pretty big deal to us. We also used to celebrate birthdays there, take girls out on dates and just casually go for a banana split. It was a comforting place, a lot of good memories” said Mohamed Nabil, an employee at a car rental company.




‘My mom passed away when I was 10, and before we moved to live with my grandmother my dad would pick me up from school and say; you know what we’re doing today? We’re getting Wimpy’s, and it used to make me feel a lot better. It would be really nice to have a classic burger with him at the restaurant again but I hope it is still as good as it used to be.’ Afaf Marzouq, a dentist.


bottom of page