top of page
Search
  • Sarah Francis

Yara Goubran: I didn’t expect this attention to my “Leh La’a” role, adoption should be generalized



Opposing comments showing hatred and anger towards the character she played, because of the character’s rejection to her sister-in-law’s adopted child and opposition to the whole idea of adoption made Yara Goubran the centre of multiple talks on social media because of her outstanding role in the trending series “Leh La’a”.


Goubran: the show was objective in revealing the pressures the character was under in order to justify the reasons behind her defensive actions

The character’s storyline aimed to show aggressiveness in multiple incidents against an adopted child which made it easily evoking viewers' hatred, Goubran said. However, the show was objective in revealing the pressures the character was under in order to justify the reasons behind her defensive actions. “The unstable circumstances the character was subject to clarified her unexpected reactions”.



Goubran added, “I rarely meet the characters I play in real life, but some aspects of each character are usually relatable while constructing the character until it obtains its uniqueness”. What made the character cling to people’s minds was “relatability” that each viewer might have felt while watching that she was similar to some person they met in their real lives.

Goubran: The cast and the idea made me say yes unhesitantly

Goubran mentioned to “Trendify” that the project idea was so catchy and new in terms of portrayal. “When Mariam Abou Ouf called to offer me the role, the cast and the idea made me say yes unhesitantly”.

Goubran: I expected the show’s success but I didn’t see the attention to the role I played coming

“I expected the show’s success but I didn’t see the attention to the role I played coming”, Goubran declared. The story of the series, approaching adoption this close through telling stories about it could be argued to be unprecedented in such a way in the Egyptian Drama. So, people’s attention to the story that came as a 2nd part of the show interested in approaching women's challenges in the Egyptian community.



Many women started adopting children in Egypt and it should be more generalized and accepted in our society, Goubran added. “It is a major responsibility that people should recognize and take seriously”.



bottom of page